Summit : W6/NC-317 – Wiedemann Hill, San Ramon, Ca. Elev. 1,854ft. (Failed Activation)

     I decided today to try and tackle the Wiedemann Hill summit after looking at it several times on the SOTA goat app. I noticed the clear way in was through a gated community but that the guard shack would prove a worthy obstacle. I figured I’d try to take the advice of K6ILM’s (K6EL) write up and instead approach the summit from the backside and head northeast to hopefully hit it. His suggested route took me into a different un-gated community that bordered the Dublin Hills Regional Park. The suggested route led to a gravel road inbetween two houses at the end of a cul de sac. Since his write up the road has been gated with no trespassing signs. Since the trail is visible not even 100 feet behind the gate I ignored the signs and hopped the fence with no problem. How you choose it is up to you. 


     Once you jump the fence you find yourself here with a small pond on your right. The trail marker will lead you north on the Calaveras Ridge Regional Trail. After looking at google earth and trying to reverse track from the summit backwards to my starting point this seemed the most logical choice.

     Rosie and I on our way to see if we can make it to the summit.  

     Mile 2 of the hike I came across a few wild pig traps. I also noticed tons of what appeared to be boar scat all along the trail. If only CA allowed silencers…

     Continuing up the Calaveras Ridge Regional Trail with my sidekick Rosie hoping to find a clear path to the summit. 


     Here is the fence line where the property ends at Dublin Hills Regional park ends. From here I think you’d need to continue across the fence line and head another 1-2 miles northeast in order to hit the tower that sits on the summit point. By chance I was able to talk to K6EL (the station that wrote the guide I referenced for this hike) while listening in simplex. I sent out an APRS beacon which he found online and said he would try to find a workaround on the map from his home computer. After some time he came back and said it appeared my only route was to hop the fence and follow a ranch truck trail for a bit before hitting another fence boundary. From there he said there was another road that met up to the summit road. We both thought it wasn’t the best approach ethically and since I wasn’t feeling too tresspassy on this particular day I called it and hiked the 2-3 miles back to the car. Oh well… There’s always next time.

Standard

Leave a Reply

